top of page

Step by Step by Step

Let's recap! I have cut all the strips that we need for our wintry Log Cabin design quilt that we found on Pinterest. I am using 4 inch squares in the middle and using 2 inch strips for my bordering. Now I am ready to sew.

A quilter's best friend (ok one of a quilter's best friends...) is this right here!

This is a quarter inch foot. When quilting, 99 out of 100 times you need to use a quarter inch seam. Thankfully someone got smart and created a sewing machine foot that measures this for you! Here is another look.

That tiny black guide on the right is my quarter inch measurement. Done! My job is so much easier.

My next step is to line up my first strip color with one of my squares. It is hard to tell in the picture, but the right edges have been lined up and the right sides of the fabric are together. Lining up the top and bottom are not necessary.

Now I just sew down the length of the square.

Done! Just trim the threads and moving on.

So I have taken the piece I just finished over to the cutting mat to trim off the excess of the strip. By lining up the ruler with the edges of the square, I just cut off what is hanging over.

Next, I just need to iron the strip out from the square.

Next, I rotate the piece and add another strip of the exact same color following the same process. I line up the right sides and sew along the side. Once again, lining up the top and bottom is not important.

Just like above, I now that this piece over to the cutting mat and trim off the excess.

Next, I iron!

See how simple this is? The most important tip is to always make sure that the corners are square. As soon as one corner starts getting distorted, you can't fix it.

Now I just need to apply the rest of the strip layers. The most important thing here is to apply the first strip of each layer to the same side as the first one. I have lined up the right edge and am ready to attach the first strip of the next layer.

Now I trim making sure to keep all of my corners at a perfect 90 degrees and then iron out the strip.

So, to keep a super long and tedious blog post a bit shorter, I am going to skip the process for all of the strips. It is literally all the same steps just with the next color until all of the layers are attached.

And magically quickly, I have another square completed! These go together scary fast and super easily, which is good, because I am going to need a lot of these!

My next post will be about another way to sew these together to make it go faster. And hopefully I will be finished with the super gorgeous quilting I am working on with another project and can give you a sneak peak! Thanks for reading.

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page